About Us

TDAC was established in 2004 by former VDOT Commissioner Mr. Greg Whirley, and Deputy Director of Transportation Ms. Gindly Johnson, former Director of VDOT Civil Rights Division.  It serves as a forum through which Virginia small, women and minority owned companies in the transportation industry may candidly discuss issues concerning the welfare of their business and make recommendations directly to the Commissioner of the Department of Transportation (VDOT) and other officers at the Department. It serves as a voice and advocate for Disadvantaged Business Enterprise.

According to TDAC Membership Guidelines, the duties of the Advisory Committee are not rigidly drawn, so that maximum openness and candor may be exercised by members in a broad sense to bring together a cross section of individuals representing interests directly involved in, or affected by the DBE programs. The Advisory Committee serves as a forum through which concerns of DBE firms, non-minority contractors, and others may be brought to the attention of VDOT regarding day to day operations of the DBE programs.  The current officers of TDAC are:

President – David Sheppard, President of Valley Green Landscaping

Vice President – Keturah Johnson, President of K.O. R. E Enterprises, LLC

Secretary – Carol Reese, President, ReeSources, Inc.

Treasurer – Cheryl Sheppard, Vice President of Valley Green Landscaping

Former Presidents:

     Stanley Moore, President of K&M Enterprises

     Prescott Sherrod, President of PEMCCO

     Devon Henry, President of Team Henry Enterprises

Voting Representatives:

A. MBE Firms

     K.O.R.E. Enterprises, LLC


     Team Henry Enterprises, LLC

     Valley Green Landscaping

B. Prime Contracts

     Chemung Contracting

     E.V. Williams

     Lane Construction

C. WBE Firms:

     Chi Associates, Inc.


D. VDOT Rep:

     Sandra Norman

E. SBSD Rep:

     Calvin Thweatt

F. FHWA Rep:

     Mohamed Dumbuya

G. VTCA Rep:

     Tom Witt

H. IT Rep:

     Marcel Curry, PEMMCO, Inc.

Members of DBE, WBE and Non-DBE firms serve two year terms. They are eligible to serve additional terms. The Advisory Committee meets on a quarterly basis.